Who are we?

The foundation Kids to School was founded in 2008 by Caren van Egten and Ans Groener in close collaboration with Sr. Jocelyn Pecto, maths teacher in Kenya. Since 1978, I (Ans Groener), have regularly visited Kenya because a friend of mine was working there as a missionary. Over the years I have seen more of Kenya and have become increasingly interested in the country. For me, it became clear that good education is essential for the development of people and nations. During one of my visits I met Jocelyn and since 1998 we have worked together to give children, who otherwise would have had to quit school due to lack of money, the opportunity to finish their education. It soon became apparent that a high school education is not enough to find a job and build an independent life. A logical next step was to give the children the opportunity to follow a vocational or academic training.

In 2008, Caren van Egten heard about our activity. She also felt that vocational training is incredibly important for the development and empowerment of girls and young women. Her enthusiasm and her contribution led to the foundation of the Kids to School in 2008. With the help of Sr. Jocelyn Pecto we could immediately give five Maasai girls the financial support to enable them to finish their education

At present, eightteen young women and seven boys in Kenya, four young girls and one boy in Tanzania and one young man in the Philippines are being supported so that they will be able to finish their education thanks to our foundation. For good guidance of the young people we work together with a number of people in the countries concerned. In Kenya we do that by working with Sr. Celia Marcelino, financial coordinator in Kenya, a Local Advisory Council, the Community Organisation & Training for Risk Reduction (COTRR) and Vijana Amani Pamoja (VAP). In Tanzania, we work with Terri Place, director of the Baobab home and Steven Tito Academy in Bagamoyo and in the Philippines, the homeland of Jocelyn Pecto, with Sr. Gemma Sobridilla.

The board in the Netherlands consists of Ans Groener, president, José Boerrigter, secretary and Caroline Houben, treasurer. From the beginning, Ruud Keulen, partner of Caren has been involved in the foundation.

The Local Advisory Council in Kenya consists of Andrew Njenga Kimani, Nicholaus Onyango Otieno, alumni of Kids to School, Caroline Ogida Kisato, Alice Waringa Karanja (contactperson COTRR) Emily Muriet Tumaina, alumni of Kids to School, and Ann Nduku (contact person VAP).